Week of Domesticity – Day 1

In an effort to save money, eat better and expand my go to meal repertoire, I am going to cook all of our dinners this week. I realize for many of my friends, this is standard operating procedure, but we often rely on takeout or frozen meals. My basic game plan is to follow the weekly menu planner from the September issue of Rachael Ray with a few substitutes. I’m also trying to complete all the much needed domestic chores to bring some order back to the house. I really have no excuse for not doing this as I work from home.

Today, I made some decent progress. Went to Pilates Circuit and then hit the grocery store to stock the fridge and pantry for the week. Was able to reorganize the pantry and clean the kitchen. Also completed a few loads of laundry and cleaned Mia’s room (she’s very messy ;)). Made Rachael Ray’s Sheperd’s Pie with a couple modifications: used lean ground turkey instead of sausage and finished the cooking in the oven instead of the broiler as our broiler is out of order. Mike and I both agree it was pretty good. I think next time I will add mushrooms. A photo:

Mike also caught the cooking bug and made us matzo ball soup for lunch -yum!  it was his first time making it and he did an excellent job!

On deck tomorrow is finishing the laundry, making chili (my own recipe), picking up for the cleaning lady, Core Commotion at the gym, work and watching the Bears kick the Packers tail!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Mike, milestone, Traci

Leave a Reply

